Never Give Up!

“Don’t burn your bridges.” – Anonymous

“I will burn all bridges behind me and stake my entire future on my ability to get what I want……Every person who wins in any undertaking must be willing to burn his ships and cut all sources of retreat.  Only by doing so can one be sure of maintaining that state of mind known as a burning desire to win, essential to success.” –  Napoleon Hill

Is there a difference between trying not to burning your bridges and burning your bridges behind you?  These statements can seem both interchangeable and gravely different.  This is an analysis of the drive it takes to push forward, the importance of never giving up and maintaining your friendships as you move forward.
bcaae1bc11127ea6b668731aaacbd481
Sometimes I think about what I would be doing if I wasn’t working in the entertainment industry.  Most of the time, it’s James Lipton on Bravo’s Inside The Actor’s Studio that prompts me to think about this.  And every time I hear him ask that question at the end of the episode, I try to think of a response and can’t come up with one.  The reason?  Because there’s nothing I’d rather be doing!  There is only one way to go from where I am now.   And for me that way is through TV, Film & Media.  I never wanted anything else or imagine doing anything else.  Because there is nothing else for me.  I’ve never had a desire to stop and retreat and I never will.  From a very early age I convinced myself that there was no way out, that THIS was it for me.  I’ve stuck by that promise so far.  And I will continue to stick by it.  The only things I have keeping me going are my ambition, my will, my strength and the belief I have in myself.

135384-thoughtfull-quotes-never-give-upA starting point in achieving your own goals – believing that they’re possible to begin with.  And convincing yourself that the only way to reach them is to continue crossing those bridges and burning them behind you.  How is this different from “not burning your bridges?”  Hugely!  As you step across each border, you take with you the people who have helped you get there.  And as you rise to success, they do too!  For a second, I wondered what would happen if you let those people fall along with the bridge you burned behind you.  Then I realized that all of those people would pull you down into that pit with them.  Believe in yourself.  Let others believe in you and let them cross that bridge with you.  Then, burn it and NEVER look back! Don’t be afraid of not giving yourself another option because the people that succeed are the ones that don’t have any other options and no where else to go.  Today, I encourage you to gather up your companions, cross that bridge, burn it and NEVER look back.  Be sure to leave a comment and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

